Brad Boeck - 610 Sports Radio

Eric Hosmer Wins First Silver Slugger Award

Hoz is 10th In Royals History to Win

Royals Coverage
November 09, 2017 - 5:37 pm

For the third consecutive year, the Kansas City Royals has a Silver Slugger Award Winner: Eric Hosmer.

Hosmer's Silver Slugger in the third consecutive award for the Royals with Kendrys Morales winning in 2015 & Salvador Perez taking home the trophy in 2016.

Below is the official press release on Hosmer's first ever Silver Slugger from the Kansas City Royals.

KANSAS CITY, MO (November 9, 2017) – Louisville Slugger ® and MLB Network announced tonight that Eric Hosmer has received the American League’s 2017 Silver Slugger Award among first baseman. Hosmer is the 10th Royal (13th time) to earn the Silver Slugger honor and only the second first baseman, joining George Brett in 1988.

Hosmer, 28, hit .318/.385/.498 (192-for-603) in 2017, setting career highs in games played (162), runs (98, tied), hits, home runs (25, tied), batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage. He finished among the American League leaders in hits (second), average (third), on-base percentage (fourth) and multi-hit games (53, tied for fourth). On July 26 at Detroit, Hosmer went a career-best 5-for-5 with five runs, six RBI and his first career grand slam, becoming just the 13th player since 1913 to record five hits, five runs and six RBI in a single game.

Hosmer, who earned his fourth career Rawlings Gold Glove on Tuesday, is the seventh American League first baseman to earn a Gold Glove and Silver Slugger Award in the same season, joining Adrian Gonzalez (2011), Mark Teixeira (2005, ’09), Rafael Palmeiro (1998), Don Mattingly (1985-87), Eddie Murray (1983-84) and Cecil Cooper (1980).

The Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger Award winners are decided by a vote of Major League Baseball managers and coaches who select the players they determine to be the best offensive producers at each position in the American and National Leagues. Selections are based on a combination of offensive statistics, including batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage, as well as the managers’ and coaches’ general impressions of a player’s overall offensive value. Managers and coaches are not allowed to vote for players on their own teams. Tabulation of the balloting is verified by the accounting firm of Mountjoy Chilton Medley LLP.

Below is a list of the 10 Royals to win a Louisville Silver Slugger Award (instituted in 1980):

George Brett – 1980, 1985 and 1988 (1980 and 1985 at third base; 1988 at first base)

Willie Wilson – 1980 and 1982 (outfield)

Hal McRae – 1982 (designated hitter)

Frank White – 1986 (second base)

Gary Gaetti – 1995 (third base)

Dean Palmer – 1998 (third base)

Billy Butler – 2012 (designated hitter)

Kendrys Morales – 2015 (designated hitter)

Salvador Perez – 2016 (catcher)

Eric Hosmer – 2017 (first base)

Comments ()