© Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

This is the 6th National Title for Nick Saban

5th at Alabama

Jay Binkley
January 08, 2018 - 10:52 pm

It ended up being a great game between Alabama and Georgia for the National Championship in Atlanta at the Mercedes Benz Stadium.   As Bama won 26-23.

What a game it was as Georgia took a 13-0 lead to halftime.  In the third the Bulldogs extened their lead to 20-7.

Alabama came storming back and tied the game at 20.  However Bama had a chance to win the game with a 36 yard field as time expired but it was way off left and overtime it was.

In overtime Rodrigo Blankenship nails a 51 yard field goal in overtime for Georgia.

But Alabama would respond with a 41 yard TD reception by Devonta Smith to win.

Jalen Hurts would start at QB for Tide but it was true freshman Tua Tagovailoa who came in and lead the comeback and throw 3 touchdowns and was the offensive MVP:

Nick Saban won his 6th National Championship.  5 at Alabama--2009, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2017and 1 at LSU 2003.

Nick Saban ties the great Bear Bryant with 6 national titles:

Past champions of the college football playoffs:

2014 Ohio State

2015 Alabama

2016 Clemson

2017 Alabama 

**For all other local college football or Chiefs news keep checking out 610sports.com.





Comments ()